Over and over again John Denver informed the world of his native roots by singing the evergreen "Take Me Home, Country Roads". As a musician Denver possessed a range of talents which did not always fit in with his chosen image of a country boy. In 1975 the magazine Billboard named him most successful pop singer, country music performer, easy-listening performer and artist with the most top singles of the year.
On the album "Back Home Again" the mature bard shows that he is at the height of his success, one reason surely being that Denver never took up the critical tone of the folk movement. He clothed his mild patriotism and his idealistic view of his America with pleasant harmonies, which are supported here and there by gentle strings in the background. Alongside pensive songs such as "Sweet Surrender" and private declarations of love "Annie’s Song", there are humorous, catchy numbers "Grandma’s Feather Bed" and tunes accompanied by a whirling fiddle "Thank God I’m A Country Boy" which recall the 'blue grass' sound of the mid-West.

Track Listing
1. Back Home Again
2. On the Road
3. Grandma’s Feather Bed
4. Matthew
5. Thank God I’m a Country Boy
6. The Music Is You
7. Annie’s Song
8. It’s Up to You
9. Cool an’ Green an' Shady
10. Eclipse
11. Sweet Surrender
12. This Old Guitar

Customer Reviews