Limited, numbered edition
4.0 Multichannel Hybrid SACD
4.0 analog to hi def digital transfer by Gus Skinas
Stereo CD and SACD mastered by Kevin Gray
Includes multichannel mix in SACD, surround sound and original 2-channel stereo mixes

Birds Of Fire is Mahavishnu Orchestra's second album. It was released in 1973 and is the last studio album released by the original Mahavishnu Orchestra lineup before the group dissolved. The album became a major crossover hit worldwide. Birds of Fire is a remarkable example of precisely choreographed hi speed solo trading with John McLaughlin, Jerry Goodman and Jan Hammer all of one mind supported by Billy Cobham's machine gun drumming and Rick Laird's dancing bass. Birds Of Fire consists solely of compositions by John McLaughlin. This includes the track "Miles Beyond" (Miles Davis) which McLaughlin dedicated to his friend and former band leader.

Track Listing
1. Birds Of Fire
2. Miles Beyond
3. Celestial Terrestrial Commuters
4. Sapphire Bullets of Pure Love
5. Thousand Island Park
6. Hope
7. One Word
8. Sanctuary
9. Open Country Joy
10. Resolution

Customer Reviews