180-gram LP limited to 1,000 copies!

First-ever stereo issue from the original master tapes

"Belgian jazz artist Bobby Jaspar died far too young at age 37 in 1963, but fortunately made a handful of memorable dates as a leader. This is the last studio session under his name. Jaspar sticks exclusively to flute on these December 1958 studio recordings. He's joined by drummer Kenny Clarke, Sadi Lallemand or Michel Hausser (who also doubles on xylophone) on vibes, and either Paul Rovere or Jymie Merritt on bass, as well as percussionist Humberto Canto (on one of the two sessions). Jaspar's soft arrangements prove very appealing for his originals, standards such as 'Lullaby of the Leaves' and 'There Will Never Be Another You,' and classic jazz tunes (an exotic 'Misterioso' and a Latin-flavored 'Chasin' the Bird' the latter featuring Hausser on xylophone). This is easily one of Jaspar's finest recordings as a leader!" — AllMusic

Recorded December 19 & 20, 1958 at the Studio Hoche, Paris.

Bobby Jaspar, flute
Michel Hausser (tracks 1 to 4, 6,8,9), Sadi Lallemand (tracks 5,7,10), vibes
Jymie Merritt (tracks 5,7,10), Paul Rovère (tracks 1 to 4, 6,8,9), bass
Humberto Canto, percussion
Kenny Clarke, drums


Side 1
Cliff Cliff (Jacques Hesse)
Phenil Isopropil Amine (Bobby Jaspar)
Mysterioso (Thelonious Monk)
Lullaby of the Leaves (Joe Young)
There Will Never Be Another You (Harry Warren - Mack Gordon)

Side 2
Waiting For Irene (Bobby Jaspar)
Le Jamf (Bobby Jaspar)
Chasing The Bird (Charlie Parker)
Speak Low (Kurt Weill)
Doxology (Memory of Dick (Bobby Jaspar)

Customer Reviews