Numbered limited edition Hybrid Multichannel SACD

Colors of the Day...The Best of Judy Collins first arrived in record stores in 1972. The recording features Collins' earliest, most time-honored recordings. The song that propelled the album sales was her number one hit, "Both Sides Now," a tune that dominated the charts for months.

Collins' voice is remarkably beautiful, her phrasing, her ability to annunciate and her vocal range place her in a category by herself. Her amazing vocal work is on full display in this excellent collection that includes Collins'explorations into folk-pop, country-pop ("Someday Soon," an Ian Tyson classic), British folk ("Sunny Goodge Street," "In My Life"), and gospel ("Amazing Grace") that clearly show her eclecticism.

The lovingly programmed collection includes the Leonard Cohen classic, "Suzanne." Cohen's haunting and evocative lyrics are masterfully interpreted by Collins, an early champion of his amazingly poetic folk songs. Some of the record's finest moments are from her exquisite 1968 album "Who Knows Where the Time Goes" including that album's title track. Also included are two of her own autobiographical compositions, "My Father" and "Albatross."

Track Listing
1. Someday Soon
2. Since You Asked
3. Both Sides Now
4. Sons of
5. Suzanne
6. Farewell to Tarwathie
7. Who Knows Where the Time Goes
8. Sunny Goodge Street
9. My Father
10. Albatross
11. In My Life
12. Amazing Grace

Customer Reviews