Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the Original Analog Master Tape!

In 1946, when Hartman was 23, he won a singing contest; eventually, he earned a spot in Dizzy Gillespie's band. Hartman labored largely unappreciated after getting kicked out of the band. That is, until he was spotted by John Coltrane and got pulled into creating what is probably his most noted recording, John Coltane and Johnny Hartman. Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin routinely sought out Hartman's shows to soak up how he caught the phrase of a song just so. Sadly, Hartman was felled by lung cancer at age 60; both his work and his story are heartbreakingly underappreciated.

Here, Analogue Productions brings you Once in Every Life. This was Johnny Hartman's next-to-last album (he made a record for Audiophile 12 days later) and the 57-year-old singer was still in prime form. His rich baritone voice is joined by a sextet also including Frank Wess (on tenor and flute), trumpeter Joe Wilder and pianist Billy Taylor.

The ballads range from slow to a brighter medium-tempo pace, and Hartman (particularly on such tunes as "Easy Living," "Wave" and "I Could Write a Book") shows that he still had it this late in his career, writes AllMusic. In his film "Bridges of Madison County" Clint Eastwood used four tracks from Once in Every Life. That movie turned a lot of people on to Johnny Hartman.

Needless to say, the richness of this SACD reissue doesn't stop with Hartman's easy, mellow voice. Not by a long shot. To present his gorgeous tone in its best light we relied upon the always-top-notch mastering of Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, and the superior analog-like sound of SACD. Top it off with a 8-panel booklet with session photos in a Super Jewel case and you've got the best Johnny Hartman reissue album you'll ever own.

This is definitely one you're not going to want to miss. Wow! Analogue Productions' Chad Kassem had been trying to license this title since 1994, and we finally got it. You'll know why he tried so long after you hear it. If you like our reissue of Dean Martin/Dream With Dean, you're gonna love this one.

Track Listing
1. Easy Living
2. It Was Almost Like A Song
3. Wave
4. By Myself
5. For All We Know
6. Will You Still Be Mine
7. Nobody Home
8. I Could Write A Book
9. I See Your Face Before Me

Customer Reviews