Hybrid Stereo SACD edition

Mastered from the original master tapes

Limited to 2,000 numbered copies

Elvis Costello and Burt Bacharach's Painted From Memory a collaboration for the ages!

Elvis Costello and Burt Bacharach's Painted from Memory endures as an extraordinary exhibition of prime music making, gorgeous arranging, and naked emotion. Having transpired after the pair teamed up on "God Give Me Strength" for a film soundtrack (and the closing track here), the album has since gone on to become one of the most respected — and admired — projects of each artist's considerable careers.

Mobile Fidelity's Hybrid Stereo SACD of Painted from Memory transforms the 1998 set. The collaboration commenced with "God Give Me Strength," a commission for the 1996 film "Grace of My Heart." Apparently pleased with the result, the pair expanded the project to this full album, the first for Costello after an absence of two years, and for Bacharach after an absence of 21 years. Lyrics and music are co-credited to both Bacharach and Costello. "I Still Have That Other Girl" won a Grammy Award in 1998 for "Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals" for Bacharach and Costello.

Track Listing
1. In The Darkest Place
2. Toledo
3. I Still Have That Other Girl
4. This House Is Empty Now
5. Tears At The Birthday Party
6. Such Unlikely Lovers
7. My Thief
8. The Long Division
9. Painted From Memory
10. The Sweetest Punch
11. What’s Her Name Today?
12. God Give Me Strength

Customer Reviews