Limited, numbered edition

Mastered for SACD by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

Joe Cocker's 1969 album release, With a Little Help From My Friends, is one of those rare debuts that really captures an artist at their prime. The album is strong and confident and in many ways peerless and impossible to classify for it's a little bit of rock, blue-eyed soul, blues and pop rolled into one soulful rasp of a voice that results in a profound listening experience.

Cocker's voice is bolstered by some very sharp playing by an impressive list of British rock luminaries including Henry McCullough, Albert Lee and Jimmy Page, Guitar; Chris Stainton, Tommy Eyre and Stevie Winwood, keyboards, and Procol Harum's organist and drummer: Matthew Fisher and the late B.J.Wilson.

Besides the classic Beatle cover tune the allbum includes brilliant interpretations of material from Bob Dylan, Dave Mason and three originals. Cocker performed his radical re-arranged version of "With a Little Help From My Friends" at Woodstock and the tune was included in the popular Woodstock documentary film. In 2001 his totally gospel fueled rock 'n soul re-harmonization of the Beatles classic version of the song was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.

Track Listing
1. Feeling Alright
2. Bye Bye Blackbird
3. Change In Louise
4. Marjorine
5. Just Like A Woman
6. Do I Still Figure In Your life?
7. Sandpapper Cadillac
8. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
9. With A Little Help From My Friends
10. I Shall Be Released

Customer Reviews